Don’t Move Forward Without Putting Up A Fight! Let Our Lawyers Protect Your Rights!

What Is Domestic Assault?

Latest News

Domestic assault is the equivalent of a simple assault charge in Tennessee, but it is separated into its own category because of who it involves. For an assault to be charged as domestic assault, it has to occur between a married or cohabitating couple, roommates, those who are related by blood, or parent and child. Domestic assault is charged as a misdemeanor, and if convicted, you could spend up to one year in jail and have to pay a fine of up to $2,500.

Domestic assault charges are very serious, and a conviction of this type on your record can follow you for the rest of your life. Get the representation you need when you call our firm and hire one of our attorneys.

What Is Aggravated Domestic Assault?

Aggravated domestic assault is an assault that takes place between the same parties listed above, but this charge indicates that there was a deadly weapon involved, that the alleged assault included broken bones, or that the defendant choked or stabbed the victim in the process. Aggravated domestic assault charges are much more serious than simple domestic assault charges. Aggravated domestic assault is a felony. It carries a sentence of up to 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

Can Domestic Assault Charges Affect My Custody Case?

If you are in the middle of a divorce or custody dispute, being charged with domestic assault can have a significant effect on your case. It can indicate to the courts that you are not able to provide a safe and nurturing environment for your child, and it can mean that you are left with only supervised visitation or no access to your child at all. If you are charged with domestic assault, it’s very important that you tell your attorney about any ongoing custody issues so that they can take steps to help you protect your relationship with your children.

What Should I Do If I’m Arrested for Domestic Assault?

If you have been arrested for domestic assault or aggravated domestic assault, contact a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. There may be options for getting the charges dropped or reduced, and the sooner a lawyer is involved and representing you, the better. Tell your attorney everything that happened before, during, and after the alleged incident so that they have a clear understanding of the events and can start formulating a defense strategy.

Make sure that you have someone on your side and fighting for your rights when you hire one of our attorneys. Call 931-236-2711 to get started by scheduling a free consultation.

Related Articles

What Is Alimony?

Read More

Who Gets the House in a Divorce in Tennessee?

Read More

Do All Felonies in Tennessee Carry Prison Time?

Read More